Now Available in e-Book and Soft Cover!

The Adventures of The Lighthouse Kids

About Us

1: Croatoan


About Us

2: Legends

Legends and Lore

About Us

3: Pirates


About Us

4: Shipwrecks

Surfmen and Shipwrecks

Welcome to The Adventures of The Lighthouse Kids – Spirits of Cape Hatteras Island!

A series of five unusual books weaving fiction, history and island tales told from the perspective of the author and the stories collected from her 102 year old mother.

Living in the shadow of the mighty Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, miles from the village, Ellie, Luke, and Blake exist in a world of spirits, mystical wolves, and stories told by their grandfather, the keeper of the lighthouse. In this five-volume series, the three children of the Jennette family travel back in time to discover the origin of their ancestors and the events that shaped the civilization of Cape Hatteras Island. Throughout the series, islanders live as they did when only an occasional mail boat kept them connected to the rest of the world—before a bridge linked the island to the mainland, before tourists flocked to the area during the summer season, and before the government became involved in managing the land. Isolated from others, they created a life of comfort and community, one that is long lost. In each subsequent volume, the Lighthouse Kids meet the people and experience the events that gradually transformed Cape Hatteras Island to the popular resort area it is today.